• Find us on Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Help & Support
  • Search


Gaelic Games Europe organises a variety of competitions in the following codes:

  • Camogie (female) / Hurling (male)
  • Football (male) / Ladies Football

Club teams compete for European Championships in all codes. In both men’s and ladies football there are also regional championships, leagues and other competitions for clubs, and internationals involving teams representing nations and regions.

Currently there are five Divisions (regions), two of which are organised into ‘sub-divisions’:

Benelux: Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg and Germany (western lander)
Central-East: Austria, Czech Republic, Germany (other than western lander) , Hungary, Italy, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Switzerland
Nordic: Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Norway, Russia, Sweden
Iberia: Gibraltar, Spain, Portugal 
*Andalucía: Gibraltar, Spain (Andalucía);
*Galicia: Spain (Galicia);
*Central: Portugal, Spain (other than Andalucía & Galicia) 
North-West: Channel Islands, France
*Bretagne: France (region of Bretagne);
*Federal: Channel Islands, France (other regions)

* = ‘sub-division’

European and divisional standings (ranking tables), results and historical records

2018-19: Current season’s standings and results


2017-18   : Previous season’s standings and results


Roll of Honour : list of winners of various European Championship competitions from inception to date

Competition Structures and Formats

Some competitions are organised over a number of ‘rounds’ where multiple teams gather at one venue and play between three and seven of games of 15-30 minutes duration on rugby or soccer pitches. Each team is awarded ‘ranking points’ based on their placing in the round. Typically, there are three to five ‘rounds’ and the team which accumulates the most ‘ranking points’ over the various rounds is declared the winners. This format applies to European Camogie Championship and the European Hurling Championship and Shield as well as most Divisional Football Championships.

The European Football Championships attracts c.50 ladies (9-a-side) and men’s (11s) teams to a single venue where they play 3-5 games (15-30min) on one day. Teams are graded into Senior, Intermediate and Junior levels (men) with Championship, Shield and, sometimes, Plate competitions at each level. Ladies teams compete for Championship, Shield and Plate trophies.

The European Premier Football Championships cater for 15-a-side teams and are played on a standard GAA size pitch with 60 minutes games. Teams are not seeded and, dependent on number of entries, play qualifying rounds, semi-finals and a final. The men’s champions represent Europe in the Leinster Junior Club Championships in Ireland. The European ladies champions play the British champions, with the winners progressing to the quarter-finals of the All-Ireland Junior Club Championships.

Games in the Bretagne, Andalucia and Galicia sub-divisions, are of 60 minutes duration. In league competitions, each team plays all other teams in their division while cup competitions are played on a ‘knock-out’ basis.

In recent years, international football games between nations are increasingly organised on a ‘friendly’ basis. In 2017, a new Euro Cup competition for countries was established. Players must be born in, or be a long-term resident of, the nation they represent.